News Racing

Twenty-one riders win AMA National No. 1 Plates at 2019 Supercross Futures AMA National Championship

Two-day amateur Supercross event takes place on modified 2019 Monster Energy Cup track

PICKERINGTON, Ohio — The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates the 21 riders who claimed 26 class titles at the inaugural Supercross Futures AMA National Championship, which took place Oct. 20-21 in Las Vegas.

The event featured 366 entries who qualified based on their performance in the eight-round Supercross Futures Series, battling bar to bar for AMA National No. 1 plates.

Five riders claimed two titles each, including Kaeden Kniffing (250 B and Schoolboy 2 (ages 12-17) classes), Dylan Cunha (250 C and Open C), Michael Mercer (30+ and 35+), Kelana Humphrey (65cc, ages 7-11) and 65cc (ages 10-11)) and Casey Cochran (85cc, ages 9-12) and Mini Senior (ages 12-15).

More than 6,100 entrants competed in the Supercross Futures Series in 2019 across 26 competition classes, ranging from the 51cc Limited (ages 4-6) Class to a 250cc class modeled after the 250SX pro class.

“The Supercross Futures platform provides riders across the nation with an opportunity to gain experience racing on a Supercross track while working their way toward joining the ranks of pro Supercross riders,” AMA Supercross Manager Mike Pelletier said. “The pace and competitiveness that these riders demonstrated at this event makes AMA Supercross’ future look very bright. I offer my congratulations to the 21 riders who won championships at this year’s event and look forward to seeing this format continue in 2020.”

Supercross Futures AMA National Championship is the official advancement platform for Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship.

Feld Motor Sports is the AMA’s promoting partner for Supercross Futures. Feld manages the promotional aspects of Supercross Futures, while the AMA develops the rules and recognizes class champions.

To learn more about AMA Supercross Futures, including its class structure and rules for rider advancement, visit

Supercross Futures AMA National Champions

  • 125cc B/C: Hunter Cross, Discovery Bay, Calif.
  • 25+: James Roberts, Ortonville, Mich.
  • 250 B: Kaeden Kniffing, San Diego, Calif.
  • 250 C: Dylan Cunha, Modesto, Calif.
  • 250 Futures: Jett Lawrence, Corona, Calif.
  • 30+: Michael Mercer, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • 35+: Michael Mercer, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • 40+: John Murray, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • 51cc Limited (ages 4-6): Jaydin Smart, Berry Creek, Calif.
  • 51cc Limited (ages 4-8): Wyatt Thurman, Temecula, Calif.
  • 51cc Limited (ages 6-8): Maddox Temmerman, Visalia, Calif.
  • 65cc (age 7-11): Kelana Humphrey, Huntington Beach, Calif.
  • 65cc (ages 10-11): Kelana Humphrey, Huntington Beach, Calif.
  • 65cc (ages 7-9): Vincent Wey, Murietta, Calif.
  • 85cc (age 9-12): Casey Cochran, Clermont, Fla.
  • 85cc (age 9-15): Haiden Deegan, Temecula, Calif.
  • Collegeboy (ages 16-24): Spencer Winter, Waverly, Tenn.
  • Mini Senior (ages 12-15): Casey Cochran, Clermont, Fla.
  • Open A: Colton Eigenmann, Titusville, Fla.
  • Open B: Blake Hazen, Bay City, Mich.
  • Open C: Dylan Cunha, Modesto, Calif.
  • Schoolboy 1 (ages 12-16): Brandon Ray, Fremont, Calif.
  • Schoolboy 2 (ages 12-17): Kaeden Kniffing, San Diego, Calif.
  • Supermini 1 (ages 12-15): Gavin Towers, Venetia, Pa.
  • Supermini Futures (ages 13-16): Evan Ferry, Largo, Fla.
  • Women: Tayler Allred, Riverton, Utah