AMA Press Releases Racing

Kyle Peters Claims Fourth Consecutive AMA Arenacross Championship

Peters overcomes adversity to clinch title early, other riders crowned following season’s end  

PICKERINGTON, Ohio (May 2, 2023) — The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates Phoenix Racing Honda’s Kyle Peters, who claimed the 2023 AMA Arenacross National Championship, his fourth straight title.

Peters closed out the 2023 AMA Arenacross National Championship two weeks early with a 2-1 main-event performance at the Salem, Va., round. Although winning titles has become the norm for 30-year-old Peters over the last few years, this one was special as it came on the heels of a vertebrae-injury recovery and took place in an arena just two hours from his hometown of Greensboro, N.C.

“To be able to do it the way I did it in front of my whole family and to be able to share that with them and share the victory, share the overcoming of all the obstacles, the adversity,” Peters said. “It was so incredible.”

Shortly after his 2022 title, Peters suffered a burst fracture injury of his C5 and C6 vertebrae April 9 at the St. Louis AMA Supercross round that forced him to have six vertebrae fused and spend six days in the ICU. The North Carolinian worked his way back for the AMA Arenacross opener in November, where he claimed his first of seven wins prior to securing the title, taking first in both motos.

Peters clinched the title with 368 points through 12 rounds.

Two weeks later the new-look AMA Arenacross had its 2022-23 season finale.

“Under new ownership, the 2023 AMA Arenacross season was a huge success,” said AMA Deputy Director of Racing Mike Burkeen. “A solid TV package and new technology has laid the foundation for bringing Arenacross back to its former glory.”

For more information on AMA Arenacross, visit

Full list of 2023 AMA Arenacross class champions:

Micro 3 (7-8) Limited

Lorenzo Alves

85cc (9-15) Open

Amari Arnold

Vet (30+)

Jonathan Chism

Micro 2 (4-6) Limited

Beau Dorn

85cc (9-12)

Gage Dunham

Mini Sr. (12-15)

Gage Dunham

50cc Aircooled (4-8) Limited

Collins Knuth

2-Stroke (14+)

Gannon Lawson

Schoolboy 1 (12-17)

Gannon Lawson

65cc (7-9)

Bensyn Levan

250 B

Kaden Lewis

450 B

Kaden Lewis

Schoolboy 2 (12-17)

Kaden Lewis

Supermini (12-16)

Grant McDonald

Senior (40+)

Robby McQuary

Pro Sport

Kyle Peters

Masters (50+)

Wayne Seboa

B/C Open

Bradley Sharma

Open A

Jordan Smith

65cc (10-11)

Eidan Steinbrecher

65cc Open (7-11)

Eidan Steinbrecher

Micro E (4-8) Limited

Luke Taylor

Micro Open (4-8) Limited

Luke Taylor

250 C

Gavin Wayland

450 C

Gavin Wayland

College (18-24)

Jason White