AMA Press Releases Racing

Peters Secures AMA Arenacross Three-Peat

Kyle Peters wins title in 2022 Kicker AMA Arenacross National Championship

Photo Credit: Jack Jaxson

PICKERINGTON, Ohio (Feb. 16, 2022) — Phoenix Racing Honda’s Kyle Peters continued his amazing stretch of excellence by winning his third straight 2022 AMA Arenacross National Championship, wrapping things up at the season finale in Denver, Colo.

Aboard his 2022 CRF250R, the Greensboro, N.C., rider dominated the competition during the 2022 season, winning 19-of-20 main events en route to an overall win by a margin of 222 points.

“In front of a packed house at the Kicker AMA Arenacross season finale, Kyle Peters closed out another incredible year,” AMA Deputy Director of Racing Mike Burkeen said. “Kyle’s consistency and relentless competitiveness has allowed him to dominate the sport for the past three seasons.”

A runner-up finish in the first 450 Pro main event was the only blemish on Peters’ resume, preventing consecutive perfect seasons for him.

“I wanted to keep the win streak going, but unfortunately some things happened at the first round,” Peters said. “Honestly, I think that took a weight off my shoulders, and from then on it was head down, hammer down. I had a couple races where I made things hard on myself — like crashing in Oklahoma and getting a bad start this weekend — but I was able to get through those and win, and take the championship again.”

Peters finished with 517 points, with GasGas’ Kyle Bitterman’s 295 points good enough for second — an improvement from his third overall placing in 2021.

The other 2022 AMA Arenacross class champions are as follows:

51cc (4-6): Jase Elliott

51cc (7-8): Kahne Paulsen

51cc Open (4-8): Cory Holmes

65cc (7-9): Landon Lee

65cc (10-11): Nolan Ford

65cc Open (7-11): Cason Curry

85cc (9-11): Wyatt Thurman

85cc (12-15): Canyon Richards

250 B (Intermediate): Blake Smith

250 C (Novice): Jace Hinrichs

450 B (Intermediate): Blake Smith

450 C (Novice): Ethan Casares

Supermini (9-15): Ely Gross

Vet (30+): Zach Gurley

Vet (40+): John Murray

Women (12+): Brighton Richards

Nov/Int Open: Blake Smith