Working with AMA members to serve riders in their states

The AMA State Chapter program provides a way for people to come together locally for riding, recreation and advocacy.

Each AMA member belongs to a state chapter. There are no additional forms to fill out or fees to pay. Just contact your state coordinator (or become one) and get involved.

The three keys to the AMA State Chapter program are advocacy, altruism and activities.

Each chapter has (or soon will have) a volunteer state coordinator, who works with AMA clubs and individuals to determine what their goals and interests are. Then, the coordinator will work with the members to determine the best way their interests can be served by the AMA. State coordinators must make the AMA presence known and felt.

All those who wish to become state coordinators must complete AMA EAGLES training.

The state coordinators will be asking which advocacy messages are needed, which charity events are supported and how far members are willing to travel to participate in events.

The AMA wants to help efforts that are already underway and get new ideas off the ground. The AMA can help clubs by sanctioning events, arranging insurance and assisting with publicity and communications.

But the help will flow in the other direction, too.

When the AMA needs people at meetings, writing letters and making phone calls about important local issues, AMA staff members will turn to the state chapters first. Local voices carry more weight with elected and appointed officials.

In addition, when rallies and other recreational events are scheduled, the AMA will need volunteers at its tent or booth to help kindle interest in the AMA, answer questions about the AMA and its activities and promote membership.

For more information about State Chapters or becoming a volunteer state coordinator, contact Marie Wuellah, State Chapters and Volunteer Manager, at mwuelleh@ama-cycle.org or at (614) 856-1900. Interested in becoming an AMA State Chapter Coordinator? Please complete the State Chapter Coordinator Application.

AMA State Chapter Coordinators

AMA State Chapter of Arizona

Arizona

State Coordinator:  Denis Levit, azcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AMA-State-Chapter-of-Arizona

Florida

State Coordinator:  Dr. Greg Zuest, flcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMA-State-Chapter-of-Florida

AMA State Chapter of Georgia

Georgia

State Coordinator:  Kevin Sinha, gacoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMAofGeorgia

Hawaii

State Coordinator:  Ken Harmeyer, hicoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/groups/336120090527433

Idaho

State Coordinator:  Chris Rogers, idcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/amastatechapterid

AMA State Chapter of Maine

Maine

State Coordinator:  John Painter, mecoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMAofMaine

AMA State Chapter of Massachusetts

Massachusetts

State Coordinator:  Paul Cote, macoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/groups/1003353659789286

AMA State Chapter of Minnesota

Minnesota

State Coordinators:  Tom and Karen Umphress, mncoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMAofMinnesota

AMA State Chapter of Missouri

Missouri

State Coordinator:  Robert Horsch, mocoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMA-State-Chapter-of-Missouri-259548691400185

AMA State Chapter of Nevada

Nevada

State Coordinator:  Bob Adams, nvcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMAStateChapterofNevada

AMA State Chapter of New Jersey

New Jersey

State Coordinator:  Jon Stone, njcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMA-State-Chapter-of-New-Jersey

AMA State Chapter of New Mexico

New Mexico

State Coordinator:  James Saul, nmcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

AMA State Chapter of North Dakota

North Dakota

State Coordinator:  Jerry Mayer, ndcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMA-State-Chapter-of-North-Dakota

AMA State Chapter of Ohio

Ohio

State Coordinator:  John Michel, ohcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/192364284987230

AMA State Chapter of South Carolina

South Carolina

State Coordinator:  Nicholaus Huges, sccoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/amaofsc

AMA State Chapter of Texas

Texas

State Coordinator:  Jude Schexnyder, txcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/amastatechapterstx

AMA State Chapter of Utah

Utah

State Coordinator:  Bruce Kruzienga, utcoordinator@ama-cycle.org

AMA State Chapter of Virginia

Virginia

State Coordinator:  David Stone, vacoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMAofVirginia

AMA State Chapter of Wisconsin

Wisconsin

State Coordinator:  Bryan Much, wicoordinator@ama-cycle.org

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/AMA-State-Chapter-of-Wisconsin

 

Didn’t find your state listed above? The AMA needs volunteers, like you, to fill these positions. Apply for the coordinator position in your state today.